## [ REPUBLIC ACT NO. 4901, June 17, 1967 ]

## AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF QUIRINO IN THE PROVINCE OF ISABELA

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. There is hereby created in the Province of Isabela, a municipality to be known as Quirino, to consist of the following barrios and sitios of the municipalities of Ilagan, Roxas and Gamu, same province:

From the Municipality of Ilagan, the barrios of Sta. Lucia, San Mateo, Sto. Domingo, Santiago, Manaoag, Vintar, Dolores and San Jose; From the Municipality of Roxas, the barrio and sitio of Camaal; and From the Municipality of Gamu, the barrios and sitios of Luna, Suerte, San Juan, Binarsang, Sta. Catalina, Cabaruan and Sinait.

- SEC. 2. The seat of government of the new municipality shall be a site located between barrios Santa Lucia in the Municipality of Ilagan, and Luna in the Municipality of Gamu, Province of Isabela.
- SEC. 3. The Municipality of Quirino as herein organized shall have the following boundaries:

"From the junction of the Mallig River and Cagayan River, running southwest along the center of Siffu River, towards Roxas until it reaches a point about 5.50 kilometers from the national highway (Calao-Enrile Road); running due north until it reaches the Mallig River; running eastward along the center of Mallig River until it reaches the existing boundary line of Ilagan, Mallig, and Magsaysay; following the existing boundary line of Mallig and Ilagan, and the boundary line of Magsaysay and Tumauini up to the point of beginning."

- SEC. 4. The municipalities of Ilagan, Roxas and Gamu shall have their present territories minus the portions thereof which are included in the territory of the Municipality of Quirino as delineated above.
- SEC. 5. The Municipality of Quirino shall begin to exist upon the election and qualification of the mayor, vice-mayor and a majority of the councilors thereof. The mayor, vice-mayor, and councilors of the said municipality shall be elected in the next local elections to be held after the approval of this Act and thereafter.