[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 4976, June 17, 1967]

AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF MAGSAYSAY IN THE PROVINCE OF DAVAO

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The barrios of Magsaysay, Bala, Barayong, Bog, Bacungan, Blocon, Dalawinon, Kanapulo, Kasuga, Mabini, Kialog, San Isidro, San Miguel, Dalumay, Tacul, Daig, Lipara and Malungon in the Municipality of Bansalan, Province of Davao, are separated from said municipality and constituted into a distinct and independent municipality, to be known as the Municipality of Magsaysay, same province. The seat of government of the new municipality shall be in the present site of Barrio Magsaysay.

The new municipality shall be bounded on the Northwest Point of National (Davao-Cotabato) Highway; thence straight line to the west following the Davao-Cotabato boundary; On the Southeast: Point of Matanao River at the Matanao-Bansalan boundary following said river upstream to the national highway; thence following said highway to the point of Davao-Cotabato boundary; On the South: Matanao-Bansalan boundary; On the West: From a western point of Davao-Cotabato boundary; thence straight line to the South following the western Bansalan boundary up to a point of Matanao-Bansalan boundary.

SEC. 2. The Municipality of Magsaysay shall acquire corporate existence upon the election and qualification of the first mayor, vice-mayor and councilors in the next general elections for local officials. For election purposes, the municipal officials of the mother municipality charged with the election duties in accordance with the Revised Election Code shall hold office until the first officials shall have been elected and qualified.

SEC. 3. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Enacted without Executive approval, June 17, 1967.



