[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 4989, June 17, 1967]

AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF SIAYAN IN THE PROVINCE OF ZAMBOANGA DEL NORTE.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Barrios Siayan Proper, Polayo, Moyo, Diongan, Gonayen Proper, Datagan, Makasing, Soriao, Gunyan, Dinoyak, Pange, Balak, Lilolit, Mangilay, Domogok, and Paranglumba, are hereby separated from the Municipality of Sindangan, Province of Zamboanga del Norte, and constituted into a distinct and independent municipality, to be known as the Municipality of Siayan in the Province of Zamboanga del Norte. The seat of government of the new municipality shall be in the present site of Barrio Paranglumba.

SEC. 2. The new Municipality of Siayan shall be bounded on the North, from the boundary of Manukan, a straight line originating from Dalongdong to the course of Moyo Daku Creek, and thence to its mouth meeting Piao River; on the East by the municipalities of Molave and Dumingag, Province of Zamboanga del Sur; on the South from the interior of Gonain, thence to Makasing, thence to Diongan and thence to Upper Nato; and on the West from Upper Nato to Datagan, thence to Polayo and thence to the mouth of Moyo Daku Creek.

SEC. 3. The Municipality of Siayan shall acquire corporate existence upon the election and qualification of the first mayor, vice mayor and councilors in the next general elections for local officials. For election purposes, the municipal officials of the mother municipality charged with the election duties in accordance with the Revised Election Code shall hold office until the first officials shall have been elected and qualified.

SEC. 4. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Enacted without Executive approval, June 17, 1967.

