[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 5116, June 17, 1967]

AN ACT PROVIDING FOR ONE ADDITIONAL JUDGE FOR THE EIGHTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT TO PRESIDE OVER THE COURT OF FIRST INSTANCE OF OCCIDENTAL MINDORO, WITH PERMANENT STATION IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAN JOSE, PROVINCE OF OCCIDENTAL MINDORO, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE SECTIONS FIFTY, FIFTY-TWO AND FIFTY-FOUR OF THE JUDICIARY ACT OF 1948.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The eighth paragraph of Section fifty of Republic Act Numbered Two hundred ninety-six, otherwise known as the Judiciary Act of 1948, as amended, is further amended to read as follows;

"Eleven judges shall be commissioned for the Eighth Judicial District. Four judges shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of Laguna and the City of San Pablo, and shall be known as judges of the first, second, third, and fourth branches thereof, respectively; three judges shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of Batangas and the City of Lipa, and shall be known as judges of the first, second and third branches thereof, respectively; two judges shall preside over the Court of First Instance of Mindoro Oriental, and shall be known as judges of the first and second branches thereof, respectively; and two judges shall preside over the Court of First Instance of Mindoro Occidental, and shall be known as judges of the first and second branches thereof, respectively: Provided, That the incumbent judge of the Courts of First Instance of Mindoro Oriental and Mindoro Occidental shall be given the privilege of selecting which court of first instance of said provinces he prefers to preside over."

SEC. 2. The seventh subparagraph of the second paragraph of Section fifty-two of the same Act, as amended is further amended to read as follows:

"For the Eighth Judicial District, one judge shall be stationed in the Municipality of Biñan, Province of Laguna; two judges shall be stationed in the Municipality of Santa Cruz, same province; and one judge, in the City of San Pablo; and one judge of the first branch of the Court of First Instance of Batangas shall be stationed in the Municipality of Batangas, Province of Batangas; and those of the second and third branches, in the City of Lipa and the Municipality of Balayan, Province of Batangas, respectively; one judge, in the Municipality of Calapan, Province of Mindoro Oriental; one judge, in the Municipality of Pinamalayan, same province; one judge in the Municipality of Mamburao, Province of Mindoro