[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 5341, June 15, 1968]

AN ACT PROVIDING ONE ADDITIONAL JUDGE FOR THE THIRTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT TO PRESIDE OVER THE COURT OF FIRST INSTANCE OF THE CITY OF TACLOBAN, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE SECTIONS FIFTY AND FIFTY-TWO OF THE JUDICIARY ACT OF 1948, AS AMENDED.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The thirteenth paragraph of Section fifty of Republic Act Numbered Two hundred ninety-six, otherwise known as "The Judiciary Act of 1948," as amended, is further amended to read us follows:

"Nineteen judges shall be commissioned for the Thirteenth Judicial District. Eight judges shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of Samar and Calbayog City and shall be known as the judges of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth branches thereof, respectively, and eleven judges shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of Leyte, Southern Leyte and the Cities of Ormoc and Tacloban, and shall be known as judges of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, to, seventh, eighth, ninth, tenth and eleventh branches thereof, respectively."

SEC. 2. The twelfth subparagraph of the second paragraph of Section fifty-two of the same Act, as amended, is further amended to read as follows:

" For the Thirteenth Judicial District, one judge shall be stationed in the Municipality of Catbalogan, Province of Samar; one judge, in the Municipality of Borongan, same province; one judge, in the Municipality of Laoang, province; one judge, in the Municipality of Catarman, province; one judge, in the City of Calbayog; one in the Municipality of Guiuan, Province of Samar; one judge, in the Municipality of Allen, same province; and one judge, in the Municipality of Oras, same province; four judges shall be stationed in the City of Tacloban; one judge in the Municipality of Maasin, Province of Southern Leyte; one judge, in the Municipality of San Juan, same province; one judge, in the City of Ormoc, who shall hold court sessions in the Municipality of Palompon at least two months every year; one judge, in the Municipality of Carigara, Province of Leyte; one judge, in the Municipality of Baybay same province; one judge, in the Municipality of Burauen, same province; and one judge, in the Municipality of Naval, Subprovince of Biliran: Provided, That one of the four branches of the Court of First Instance of Leyte stationed in the City of Tacloban shall exercise exclusive jurisdiction over all cases arising within the City of Tacloban as well as those cases arising from the First District of Leyte which may be assigned to it by the Secretary of Justice."