[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 5421, June 15, 1968]

AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF BASAY IN THE PROVINCE OF NEGROS ORIENTAL

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The barrios of Basay, Bongalonan, Bal-os, Cabalayongan, Kinantayan, Nagbo-alao, and Actin in the Municipality of Bayawan, Province of Negros Oriental, are separated from said municipality, and constituted into a distinct and independent municipality, to be known as the Municipality of Basay, same province. The seat of government of the new municipality shall be in the present site of the barrio of Basay.

The eastern boundary of the new municipality shall follow the Pagatban River up to the provincial boundary of Negros Oriental and Negros Occidental.

SEC. 2. The Municipality of Basay shall acquire corporate existence upon the election and qualification of the first mayor, vice-mayor and councilors in the next general elections for local officials.For election purposes, the municipal officials of the mother municipality charged with the election duties in accordance with the Revised Election Code shall hold office until the first officials shall have been elected and qualified.

SEC. 3. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Enacted without Executive approval, June 15, 1968.



Source: Supreme Court E-Library This page was dynamically generated by the E-Library Content Management System (E-LibCMS)