## [ REPUBLIC ACT NO. 5777, June 21, 1969 ]

## AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF TOMAS OPPUS IN THE PROVINCE OF SOUTHERN LEYTE.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The barrios of San Isidro, Punong, Hinapo, Rizal, Maslog, Banday, Cambite, Cabascan, Cawayan, Ana-hawan, Carnaga, Maanyag, Tinago and Salvacion in the Municipality of Malitbog, Province of Southern Leyte, are separated from said municipality and created into a distinct and independent municipality to be known as the Municipality of Tomas Oppus. The seat of government of the new municipality shall be in the present site of the barrio of San Isidro.

SEC. 2. The Municipality of Tomas Oppus as herein created shall have the following boundaries:

"Beginning at the mouth of the Canumay Stream on the shoreline of Sogod Bay, marked Point 1; thence, following upstream the Canumay Stream until it intersects the municipal boundaries of Malitbog between the municipalities of Malitbog and Matalom, marked Point 2; thence, following the boundaries between the municipalities of Malitbog and Matalom in a northerly direction to the intersection of the municipal boundaries of Malitbog, Matalom and Bontoc, marked Point 3; thence, following the Higosoan River downstream to its mouth at the shoreline in Sogod Bay, marked Point 4; thence, following the boundary of the marine waters which this municipality shall have pursuant to Section twenty-three hundred twenty-one of the Revised Administrative Code to Point marked 1, the point of beginning."

SEC. 3. The first mayor, vice-mayor and councilors of the municipality shall be elected in the next general elections.

SEC. 4. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Enacted without Executive approval, June 21, 1969.

