[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 6406, October 04, 1971]

AN ACT DIVIDING THE PROVINCE OF LANAO DEL SUR INTO THE PROVINCES OF MARANAW AND LANAO DEL SUR.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The Province of Lanao del Sur is hereby divided into two provinces to be known as Maranaw and Lanao del Sur, in the following manner: The Province of Maranaw shall consist of that portion of the present Province of Lanao del Sur which comprises the municipalities of Masiu, Poona-Bayabao, Lumba-Bayabao, Wao, Tamparan, Marantao, Kapai, Bubong, Ramain-Ditsaan, Mulondo, Saguiaran, Piagapo and Taraka. The Province of Lanao del Sur shall consist of that remaining portion of the present Province of Lanao del Sur which comprises the municipalities of Lumbatan, Butig, Binidayan, Bayang, Tubaran, Tugaya, Pagayawan, Pualas, Balabagan, Mala-bang, Ganassi, Madalum, Madamba, Bacolod Grande and Balindong.

- SEC. 2. The capital of the Province of Maranaw shall be the City of Marawi, and that of the Province of Lanao del Sur shall be the Municipality of Malabang.
- SEC. 3. Except as hereinafter provided, all provisions of the law now or hereafter applicable to regular provinces shall be applicable to the Provinces of Maranaw and Lanao del Sur.
- SEC. 4. The new provinces as provided in this Act shall come into existence upon the election and qualification of their first elective provincial officials, who shall be elected in a special election simultaneously with the general elections of November, nineteen hundred and seventy-three.
- SEC. 5. For purposes of the special election mentioned in Section four hereof, the provincial board of canvassers of the present Province of Lanao del Sur shall act as the provincial board of canvassers for the provinces herein created.
- SEC. 6. For the purposes of congressional representation and provincial elections, the City of Marawi shall be included in the Province of Maranaw.
- SEC. 7. The funds, obligations and the assets of all kinds of the present Province of Lanao del Sur subsisting at the time of the effectivity of the creation of the two provinces herein created shall be divided and distributed between the two provinces in proportion to the total income of the municipalities comprising each of these provinces for the fiscal year nineteen hundred seventy-two and nineteen hundred seventy-three: *Provided, however,* That if the obligation had been contracted to finance a project located in one of the two new provinces, the said province shall be responsible exclusively for such obligation.