[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 6394, September 10, 1971]

AN ACT TO SEPARATE THE SUB-PROVINCE OF QUIRINO FROM THE PROVINCE OF NUEVA V1ZCAYA AND CONSTITUTE IT INTO A REGULAR PROVINCE TO BE KNOWN AS THE PROVINCE OF QUIRINO.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

- SECTION 1. The Subprovince of Quirino created under Republic Act Numbered Four thousand seven hundred and thirty-four, as amended by Republic Act Numbered Five thousand five hundred and fifty-four, is hereby separated from the Province of Nueva Vizcaya, and constituted into a province to be known as the Province of Quirino.
- SEC. 2. The capital of the Province of Quirino shall be the Municipality of Cabarroguis created under Republic Act Numbered Five thousand five hundred and fifty-four, amending Republic Act Numbered Four thousand seven hundred and thirty-four.
- SEC. 3. The governor, vice-governor and members of the Provincial Board of the Subprovince of Quirino elected in the general elections of nineteen hundred and seventy-one shall automatically become the provincial officials of Quirino and shall hold office until their successors shall have been elected and qualified.
- SEC. 4. The Member of the House of Representatives for the Province of Quirino shall be elected in the next Presidential elections: *Provided*, That the present Representative for the Lone District of the Province of Nueva Vizcaya shall, during the term of office as representative, continue to represent the new Province of Quirino. The delegates to the Constitutional Convention for the Province of Nueva Vizcaya shall likewise represent the Province of Quirino.
- SEC. 5. All provisions of law applicable to regular provinces at the time of the effectivity of this Act shall be applicable to the Province of Quirino. Said province shall be within the jurisdiction of the First Judicial District.
- SEC. 6. All funds and assets, obligations and liabilities pertaining to the Subprovince of Quirino at the time of the effectivity of this Act shall be transferred to, and assumed by, the Province of Quirino.
- SEC. 7. All government departments, bureaus, offices, and agencies, including government-owned and controlled corporations, shall extend maximum assistance to help accelerate the economic development of this new province.
- SEC. 8. The fiscal, division superintendent of schools, and highway district engineer