[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 6396, September 17, 1971]

AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAN BENITO IN THE PROVINCE OF SURIGAO DEL NORTE.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The barrios of San Benito, Bonglo, Nuevo Campo, San Juan, and Maribojoc, all in the Municipalities of Del Carmen and Sta. Monica, Province of Surigao del Norte, are separated from said municipalities and constituted into a distinct and independent municipality, to be known as the Municipality of San Benito. The seat of government of the new municipality shall be in the present site of the barrio of San Benito.

SEC. 2. The Municipality of San Benito shall acquire corporate existence upon the election and qualification of the first mayor, vice-mayor and councilors in the next general elections for local officials. For election purposes, the municipal officials of the mother municipalities charged with the election duties in accordance with the Revised Election Code shall hold office until the first officials shall have been elected and qualified.

SEC. 3. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved, September 17, 1971.



Source: Supreme Court E-Library
This page was dynamically generated by the E-Library Content Management System (E-LibCMS)