## [ REPUBLIC ACT NO. 6842, January 05, 1990 ]

## AN ACT TO CREATE THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAN JOSE IN THE PROVINCE OF TARLAC

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Barangays Burgos, Iba, Labney, Lawacamulag, David, Lubigan, Maamot, Mababanaba, Moriones, Pao, San Juan de Valdez, Sula and Villa Aglipay in the Municipality of Tarlac, Province of Tarlac, are hereby separated from said municipality and constituted into a distinct and independent municipality to be known as the Municipality of San Jose, Tarlac, with the seat of government at the present site of Barangay Villa Aglipay.

SEC. 2. The Municipality of San Jose shall be bounded on the East by Barangays Sto. Domingo, Sapang Maragul, Tibag and Armenia of the Municipality of Tarlac; on the West by the Province of Zambales; on the South by the Municipality of Capas; and on the North by the Municipalities of Sta. Ignacia and Mayantoc.

SEC. 3. The Municipality of San Jose shall begin to exist upon the ratification by a majority of the votes cast in a plebiscite to be conducted in the areas affected within one hundred twenty (120) days after the approval of this Act.

The Commission on Elections shall conduct and supervise the plebiscite. The expenses in holding the plebiscite shall be taken out of the Contingent Fund under the current fiscal year appropriations.

SEC. 4. The first mayor, vice-mayor and councilors of the new municipality shall be appointed by the President and shall serve until noon of June 30, 1992.

SEC. 5. Upon approval of this Act, the municipal treasurer of Tarlac, Tarlac, shall turn over such amount of real estate taxes and other fees collected from the barangays mentioned in Section 1 hereof to the municipal treasurer of the Municipality of San Jose, Tarlac.

SEC. 6. This Act shall take effect upon publication in at least two (2) newspapers of general circulation.

Approved,

## (Sgd.) JOVITO R. SALONGA

## (Sgd.) RAMON V. MITRA

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House of Representatives

This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was finally passed by the