## [ REPUBLIC ACT NO. 7891, February 20, 1995 ]

## AN ACT DIVIDING THE PROVINCE OF ISABELA INTO TWO PROVINCES NAMELY: ISABEIA DEL NORTE AND ISABELA DEL SUR

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The municipalities of Cabagan, Delfin Albano, Divilican, Ilagan, Maconacon, Palanan, San Pablo, Sta. Maria, Sto. Tomas, Tumauini Aurora, Benito Soliven, Burgos, Gamu, Mallig, Naguilian, Quezon, Quirino, Roxas, San Manuel, and San Mariano are hereby segregated and constituted into a separate province to be known as Isabela del Norte (1st and 2nd Congressional Districts). While the municipalities of Alicia, Angadanan, Cabatuan, Cauayan, Luna, Reina Mercedes, San Guillermo, San Mateo, Cordon, Dinapigue, Echague, Jones, Ramon, San Agustin, and San Isidro will now be called Isabela del Sur (3rd and 4th Congressional Districts).

- SEC. 2. Law Applicable to the Province. Except as otherwise herein provided, all provisions of law now or hereafter applicable to regularly organized provinces shall be applicable to the provinces of Isabela del Norte and Isabela del Sur.
- SEC. 3. *Provincial Capital.* The provincial capital of Isabela del Norte shall be the Municipality of Ilagan while Isabela del Sur will be the Municipality of Cauayan. The former (Isabela del Norte) already has an existing capitol building while Isabela del Sur's capitol shall be established within a government lot thereat.
- SEC. 4. *Plebiscite.* The creation of the provinces of Isabela del Norte and Isabela del Sur as provided in this Act shall be subject to the approval of the majority of the votes cast by the voters of the affected areas in a plebiscite to be conducted by the Commission on Elections within one hundred twenty (120) days from the day of the effectivity of this Act as provided in Section 10 of the Local Government Code of 1991.
- SEC. 5. *Elective Provincial Officials.* Should the majority of the voters favor the division as shown in the plebiscite abovementioned, a set of provincial officials of the new province (Isabela del Norte) shall be elected in a special election to be held within sixty (60) days after the plebiscite.

In the same manner, elective positions vacated by the provincial officials of the other province (Isabela del Sur), if there will be any, shall be elected also in a special election to be held simultaneously within the period provided for in the next preceding paragraph: *Provided, however*, That, notwithstanding the residency requirements, the incumbent elective officials of the present province shall continue