## [ REPUBLIC ACT NO. 8246, December 30, 1996 ]

AN ACT CREATING ADDITIONAL DIVISIONS IN THE COURT OF APPEALS, INCREASING THE NUMBER OF COURT OF APPEALS JUSTICES FROM FIFTY-ONE (51) TO SIXTY-NINE (69), AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE BATAS PAMBANSA BILANG 129, AS AMENDED, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE JUDICIARY REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1980, APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR, AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Section 3, Chapter 1 of Batas Pambansa Blg. 129, as amended, is hereby further amended to read as follows:

"SEC. 3. Organization. – There is hereby created a Court of Appeals which shall consist of a Presiding Justice and sixty eight (68) Associate Justices who shall be appointed by the President of the Philippines. The Presiding Justice shall be so designated in his appointment, and the Associate Justices shall have precedence according to the dates of their respective appointments, or when the appointments of two or more of them shall bear the same date, according to the order in which their appointments were issued by the President. Any member who is reappointed to the Court after rendering service in any other position in the government shall retain the precedence to which he was entitled under his original appointment, and his service in the Court shall, for all intents and purposes, be considered as continuous and uninterrupted."

SEC. 2. Section 4 of Batas Pambansa Blg. 129, as amended, is hereby further amended to read as follows:

"SEC. 4. Exercise of Powers and Functions. – The Court of Appeals shall exercise its powers, functions, and duties through twenty-three (23) divisions, each composed of three (3) members. The Court may sit *en banc* for the purpose of exercising administrative, ceremonial or other non-adjudicatory functions."

SEC. 3. Section 10 of Batas Pambansa Blg. 129, as amended, is hereby further amended to read as follows:

"SEC. 10. Place of Holding Sessions. – The Court of Appeals shall have its permanent stations as follows: The first seventeen (17) divisions shall be stationed in the City of Manila for cases coming from the First to the Fifth Judicial Regions; the Eighteenth, Nineteenth, and Twentieth Divisions shall be in Cebu City for cases coming from the Sixth, Seventh and