[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 8470, January 30, 1998]

AN ACT CREATING THE PROVINCE OF COMPOSTELA VALLEY FROM THE PROVINCE OF DAVAO DEL NORTE, AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. There is hereby created a new province from the present Province of Davao del Norte, to be known as the Province of Compostela Valley. The Province of Compostela Valley shall comprise the municipalities of Monkayo, Montevista, Laak, New Bataan, Compostela, Maragusan, Nabunturan, Mawab, Maco, Mabini, and Pantukan. The remaining municipalities of Tagum, Asuncion, Kapalong, New Corella, Talaingod, Sto. Tomas, Panabo, Carmen, Babak, Samal and Kaputian shall comprise the Province of Davao del Norte.

SEC. 2. The seat of government of the Province of Davao del Norte shall be the Municipality of Tagum, and that of the Province of Compostela Valley shall be the Municipality of Nabunturan.

SEC. 3. The Province of Davao del Norte shall be divided into two (2) legislative districts as follows:

District I - Tagum, Asuncion, Kapalong, Talaingod and New Corella; and District II - Panabo, Carmen, Babak, Samal, Kaputian and Sto. Tomas.

SEC. 4. The Province of Compostela Valley shall be divided into two (2) legislative districts as follows:

District I - Monkayo, Montevista, Maragusan, New Bataan and Compostela; and District II - Laak, Mawab, Nabunturan, Maco, Mabini and Pantukan.

SEC. 5. The creation of the Province of Compostela Valley, as provided in this Act, shall become effective upon approval of the majority of the votes cast in a plebiscite called for the purpose which shall be conducted and supervised by the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) within sixty (60) days from the date of the effectivity of this Act, in the political units affected.

The expenses for the plebiscite shall be charged to the Province of Davao del Norte.

SEC. 6. The elective provincial officials of the present Province of Davao del Norte who were elected in the May 11, 1995 elections, shall continue to serve in the province that they will choose: *Provided*, That they shall continue to receive the salaries they are receiving at the time of the approval of this Act, until the new readjustments of salaries in accordance with law: *Provided*, *further*, That where a