## [ REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9218, August 08, 2003 ]

## AN ACT CONSTITUTING THE FIRST DISTRICT ENGINEERING **OFFICE IN THE PROVINCE OF CEBU INTO TWO SEPARATE AND** DISTINCT ENGINEERING OFFICES, ONE TO BE LOCATED IN THE CITY OF CEBU AND THE OTHER IN THE CITY OF DANAO, BOTH IN THE PROVINCE OF CEBU

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The First Engineering District in the Province of Cebu shall be constituted, under the supervision of the Department of Public Works and Highways, into two separate and distinct engineering districts. The present First Engineering District located in the Capitol in Cebu City shall remain where it is and the other shall be located in the City of Danao, Cebu to be known as the Fifth Engineering.

SEC. 2. The First Engineering District shall comprise the cities of Mandaue and Lapulapu and the municipalities of Cordova Consolacion, Tabogon, Bogo, Daan Bantayan, San Remegio, Sta. Fe Bantayan, Madridejos and Tabuclan while the Fifth Engineering District shall comprise the City of Danao and the municipalities of Liloan, Compostela, Carmen, Catmon, Sogod, Borbon, San Francisco, Poro, Pilar and Tudela.

SEC. 3. The present personnel, resources and equipment of the present First Engineering District shall be divided proportionately between the two (2) engineering districts.

SEC. 4. The Secretary of the Department of Public Works and Highways shall include in its program the funding requirements for the operationalization of the Cebu Fifth Engineering District in the year following its enactment into law and thereafter.

SEC. 5. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved,

## (Sgd.) JOSE DE VENECIA JR. (Sgd.) FRANKLIN M. DRILON

Speaker of the House of Representatives President of the Senate

This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was finally passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on May 7, 2002 and April 28, 2003, respectively.

## (Sgd.) ROBERTO P. NAZARENO (Sgd.) OSCAR G. YABES

Secretary General

Secretary of the Senate