[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9437, April 27, 2007]

AN ACT RENAMING THE LEYTE STATE UNIVERSITY IN BARANGAY PANGASUGAN, MUNICIPALITY OF BAYBAY, PROVINCE OF LEYTE AS THE VISAYAS STATE UNIVERSITY, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9158, ENTITLED "AN ACT CONVERTING THE VISAYAS STATE COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURE INTO A STATE UNIVERSITY TO BE KNOWN AS THE LEYTE STATE UNIVERSITY, APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES"

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The Leyte State University in Barangay Pangasugan, Municipality of Baybay, Province of Leyte is hereby renamed as the Visayas State University.

SEC. 2. *Repealing Clause.* - All provisions of Republic Act No. 9158 referring to the name of Leyte State University are hereby modified accordingly.

SEC. 3. *Effectivity.* - This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in two newspapers of general circulation.

Approved,

(Sgd.) MANNY VILLAR President of the Senate

Speaker of the House of Representatives

(Sgd.) JOSE DE VENECIA, JR.

This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was finally passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on June 7, 2005 and May 29, 2007, respectively.

(Sgd.) OSCAR G. YABES Secretary of the Senate (Sgd.) ROBERTO P. NAZARENO

Secretary General House of Representatives

Approved:

(Sgd.) GLORIA MACAPAGAL-ARROYO

President of the Philippines