[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9726, October 22, 2009]

AN ACT SEPARATING THE CITY OF LAPU-LAPU FROM THE SIXTH LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT OF THE PROVINCE OF CEBU TO CONSTITUTE THE LONE LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT OF THE CITY OF LAPU-LAPU

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representative of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. *Lone Legislative District.* — The City of Lapu-Iapu is hereby separated from the Sixth Legislative District of the Province of Cebu to constitute the Lone Legislative District of the City of Lapu-Iapu, which shall commence in the next national election after the effectivity of this Act.

SEC. 2. *Incumbent Representative.* — The incumbent representative of the Sixth Legislative District of the Province of Cebu shall continue to represent the said district until the new representative of the Lone Legislative District of the City of Lapu-Iapu shall have been elected and qualified.

SEC. 3. *Rules and Regulations.* — The Commission on Elections shall issue the necessary rules and regulations to implement this Act.

SEC. 4. *Repealing Clause.* — All laws, rules and regulations inconsistent with this Act are hereby repealed, amended or modified accordingly.

SEC. 5. *Effectivity.* — This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in at least two (2) newspapers of general circulation.

Approved,

(Sgd.) JUAN PONCE ENRILE

President of Senate

(Sgd.) PROSPERO C. NOGRALES

Speaker of the House of Representatives

This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was finally passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on October 2, 2008 and September 28, 2009, respectively.

(Sgd.) EMMA LIRIO-REYES

(Sgd.) MARILYN B. BARUA-YAP

Secretary of Senate

Secretary General House of Representatives