[PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 531, August 08, 1974]

INTEGRATION OF POLICE AND FIRE DEPARTMENTS AND JAILS IN OTHER PROVINCES

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 12, Article XV of the Constitution of the Philippines, "the State shall establish and maintain an integrated national police force whose organization, administration and operation shall be provided by law";

WHEREAS, toward the implementation of the aforequoted provisions of the Constitution, pilot projects have been established, such that the police forces, fire departments and jails in the Greater Manila Area have been constituted as the Metropolitan Police Force pursuant to Presidential Decree No. 421, dated March 21, 1974; while the police forces, fire departments and jails in the provinces of Bulacan, Pampanga, Nueva Ecija, Laguna, Cebu and Misamis Oriental, including those of the Cities therein, have been similarly integrated pursuant to Presidential Decree No. 482, dated June 13, 1974;

WHEREAS, the objective of the aforementioned integration is to determine the efficacy thereof for the cause of peace and order throughout the country, as well as the possible defects of such system and to eliminate the same;

WHEREAS, in order to attain the objectives of the aforesaid pilot projects, it is necessary that similar projects be established in other provinces;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution and pursuant to Proclamation No. 1081, dated September 21, 1972, and No. 1104, dated January 17, 1973, and General Order No. 1, dated September 22, 1972, do hereby order and decree to be part of the law of the land, the following:

SECTION 1. Integration of city/municipal police and fire departments and jails in other provinces. — All laws to the contrary notwithstanding, the city/municipal police and fire departments and jails in the following provinces, as they are presently constituted and organized, are hereby integrated into law enforcement units to be known as indicated:

- a. All municipalities of the Province of Benguet, including the City of Baguio, to be known as the Benguet Integrated Police Force;
- b. All municipalities of the Province of La Union, to be known as the La Union Integrated Police Force;
- c. All municipalities of the Province of Bataan, to be known as the Bataan Integrated Police Force;
- d. All municipalities of the Province of Rizal, except the municipalities of Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Paranaque, Makati, Mandaluyong, San Juan, Marikina, Pasig, Pateros, Taguig, Navotas and Malabon, to be known as the Rizal Integrated Police Force;
- e. All municipalities of the Province of Cavite, including the Cities of Cavite, Trece Martires and Tagaytay, to be known as the Cavite Integrated Police Force;
- f. All the municipalities of the Province of Batangas, including the Cities of Batangas and Lipa, to be known as the Batangas Integrated Police Force;

- g. All the municipalities of the Province of Quezon, including the City of Lucena, to be known as the Quezon Integrated Police Force;
- h. All municipalities of the Province of Iloilo, including the City of Iloilo and the Subprovince of Guimaras to be known as the Iloilo Integrated Police Force;
- i. All the municipalities of the Province of Negros Occidental, including the Cities of Bacolod, Bago, Cadiz, La Carlota, San Carlos and Silay, to be known as the Negros Occidental Integrated Police Force;
- j. All the municipalities of the Province of Negros Oriental including the Cities of Bais, Canlaon and Dumaguete, to be known as the Negros Oriental Integrated Police Force;
- k. All the municipalities of the province of Leyte, including the Cities of Ormoc and Tacloban, to be known as the Leyte Integrated Police Force;
- I. All municipalities of the Province of Southern Leyte to be known as the Southern Leyte Integrated Police Force;
- m. All municipalities of the Province of Davao del Norte, to be known as the Davao del Norte Integrated Police Force;
- n. All municipalities of the Province of Davao Oriental, to be known as the Davao Oriental Integrated Police Force;
- o. All municipalities of the Province of Davao del Sur, including the City of Davao, to be known as the Davao del Sur Integrated Police Force;
- p. All municipalities of the Province of Lanao del Norte, including the City of Iligan, to be known as the Lanao del Norte Integrated Police Force; and
- q. All municipalities of the Province of Lanao del Sur, including the City of Marawi to be known as the Lanao del Sur Integrated Police Force;
- **SEC. 2**. Head of the Integrated Police Forces.—The heads of the Benguet Integrated Police Force, the La Union Integrated Police Force, the Bataan Integrated Police Force, the Rizal Integrated Police Force, the Cavite Integrated Police Force, the Quezon Integrated Police Force, the Batangas Integrated Police Force, the Iloilo Integrated Police Force, the Negros Occidental Integrated Police Force, the Leyte Integrated Police Force, the Southern; Leyte Integrated Police Force, the Davao del Norte grated Police Force, the Davao Oriental Integrated Force, the Davao del Sur Integrated Police Force, Lanao del Norte Integrated Police Force and the del Sur Integrated Police Force shall be designated b Chief of Constabulary from among the officers of the Philippine Constabulary.
- **SEC. 3**. Jurisdiction of the Integrated Police Forces. The Integrated Police Forces constituted pursuant to Section 1 hereof shall be responsible for the public safety and discharge the functions of enforcement of maintenance of peace and order within the territorial limits of each of the above-mentioned provinces and the cities therein. These Integrated Police Forces shall have the power to prevent crimes, take necessary public safety, effect arrest of criminal the commission of all crimes and offenses in jurisdiction and bring the offenders to justices.
- **SEC. 4**. Operational control and direction over the Integrated Police Forces. The Philippine Constabulary shall exercise operational control, direction and supervision over the Integrated Police Forces herein constituted. For this purpose, the Chief Constabulary shall integrate the above-mentioned Integrated Police Forces into the organizational and operational set-up of the Philippine Constabulary and exercise control, direction and supervision through the Head of each of the said Integrated Police Forces: *Provided*, That such Integrated Police Forces shall not form part of the Philippine Constabulary as a military organization and a Major Service of the Armed