[PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 493, June 28, 1974]

AMENDING THE APPROVED INTEGRATED RE-ORGANIZATION PLAN INSOFAR AS THE NUMBER OF REGIONAL OFFICES OF THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HIGHWAYS IS CONCERNED BY DIVIDING HIGHWAY REGIONAL OFFICE NO. 4 INTO TWO REGIONS TO BE KNOWN AS REGION 4-A AND REGION 4-B.

WHEREAS, under the Integrated Reorganization Plan as approved and implemented in the Department of Public Highways, there are eleven (11) highway regional offices;

WHEREAS, Region 4 of the Department of Public Highways as presently constituted covers a very extensive area, which renders almost impossible an affective and thorough supervision and coordination of all related projects and activities by only one Regional Director.

WHEREAS, there is a concentration of project execution and other developmental work in the Greater Manila Area that necessitates the physical presence of the Fourth Regional Director most of the time, thus limiting his time to supervise the projects in other provinces and cities within the region;

WHEREAS, there is also an imperative need for closer, more effective and thorough supervision and coordination of project execution in other provinces of the region especially because of area developments, particularly in Oriental Mindoro and Palawan, which necessitate the physical presence of the Regional Director in these places;

WHEREAS, to assure better administration and more thorough supervision of highway projects in all the provinces and cities within the region, it is imperative to divide the provinces and cities presently comprising Region 4 of the Department of Public Highways into two (2) regions, each region to be headed by a Regional Director.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers in me vested by the Constitution, do hereby promulgate this decree as part of the law of the land:

SECTION 1. Region 4 of the Department of Public Highways as organized pursuant to the Integrated Reorganization Plan is hereby divided into two (2) regions, to be known as Region 4-A and Region 4-B, both with Regional Offices in the Greater Manila Area.

SEC. 2. Region 4-A will be comprised by the following-cities and provinces:

Cities:

- 1. Batangas City
- 2. Caloocan City
- 3. Cavite City
- 4. Lipa City
- 5. Lucena City
- 6. City of Manila
- 7. Pasay City
- 8. Quezon City