## [ PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 641, January 21, 1975 ]

## INTEGRATION OF THE POLICE AND FIRE DEPARTMENTS AND JAILS IN PROVINCES/CITIES NOT COVERED BY PRECIOUS POLICE INTEGRATION DECREES.

**WHEREAS**, toward the implementation of Section 12, Article XV of the Constitution of the Philippines, the police and fire departments and jails in fifty-four provinces and fifty-seven cities have already been integrated pursuant to Presidential Decrees No. 421, dated March 21, 1974; No. 482, dated June 13, 1974; No. 531, dated August 8, 1974 and No. 585, dated November 18, 1974;

**WHEREAS**, in order to attain fully the objectives of the aforecited Presidential Decrees, it is necessary that the police and fire departments and jails in the remaining eighteen provinces and four cities in the country be similarly integrated;

**NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS**, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution, do hereby order and decree as part of the law of the land, the following:

**SECTION 1**. Integration of the police and fire departments and jails in provinces hereunder enumerated. — All laws to the contrary notwithstanding, the city/municipal police and fire departments and jails in the following provinces are hereby integrated into law enforcement units to be known as indicated:

- 1. All municipalities of the Province of Batanes, to be known as the Batanes Integrated Police Force;
- 2. All municipalities of the Province of Kalinga-Apayao, to be known as the Kalinga-Apayao Integrated Police Force;
- 3. All municipalities of Mountain Province to be known as the Mountain Province Integrated Police Force;
- 4. All municipalities of the Province of Ifugao, to be known as the Ifugao Integrated Police Force;
- 5. All municipalities of the Province of Marinduque, to be known as the Marinduque Integrated Police Force;
- 6. All municipalities of the Province of Mindoro Oriental, to be known as the Mindoro Oriental Integrated Police Force;
- 7. All municipalities of the Province of Mindoro Occidental, to be known as the Mindoro Occidental Integrated Police Force;
- 8. All municipalities of the Province of Romblon, to be known as the Romblon Integrated Police Force;
- 9. All municipalities of the Province of Palawan, including the City of Puerto Princesa, to be known as the Palawan Integrated Police Force;
- 10. All municipalities of the Province of Northern Samar, to be known as the Northern Samar Integrated Police Force;
- 11. All municipalities of the Province of Western Samar, including the City of Calbayog, to be known as the Western Samar Integrated Police Force;
- 12. All municipalities of the Province of Eastern: Samar, to be known as the Eastern Samar Integrated. Police Force;
- 13. All municipalities of the Province of Maguindanao, including the City of Cotabato, to be known as the Maguindanao Integrated Police Force;

- 14. All municipalities of the Province of Sultan Kudarat, to be known as the Sultan Kudarat Integrated Police Force;
- 15. All municipalities of the Province of North Cotabato, to be known as the North Cotabato Integrated Police-Force;
- 16. All municipalities of the Province of South Cotabato, to be known as the South Cotabato Integrated Police Force;
- 17. All municipalities of the Province of Sulu, to be known as the Sulu Integrated Police Force;
- 18. All municipalities of the Province of Tawi-Tawi, to be known as the Tawi-Tawi Integrated Police Force;
- **SEC. 2**. Head of the Integrated Police Forces. The-heads of the Batanes Integrated Police Force, the Kalinga-Apayao Integrated Police Force, the Mountain Province-Integrated Police Force, the Ifugao Integrated. Police Force, the Marinduque Integrated Police Force, the Mindoro Oriental Integrated Police Force, the Mindoro Occidental Integrated Police Force, the Romblon Integrated Police Force, the Palawan Integrated Police Force, the Northern Samar Integrated Police Force, the Western Samar Integrated Police Force, the Eastern Samar Integrated Police Force, the Maguindanao Integrated Police Force, the Sultan Kudarat Integrated Police Force, the North Cotabato Integrated Police Force, the South Cotabato Integrated Police Force, the Sulu Integrated Police Force and the Tawi-Tawi Integrated Police Force shall be designated by the Chief of Constabulary from among the officers of the Philippine Constabulary.
- **SEC. 3**. Jurisdiction of the Integrated Police Forces. The Integrated Police Force constituted pursuant to Section 1 hereof shall be responsible for the public safety and discharge the functions of enforcement of the laws and maintenance of peace and order within the territorial limits of each of the above-mentioned provinces and the cities therein. These Integrated Police Forces shall have the power to prevent crimes, take necessary measures for public safety, effect arrest of criminal offenders, investigate respective jurisdiction and bring the offenders to justice.
- **SEC. 4**. Operational Control and direction over the Integrated Police Forces. The Philippine Constabulary shall exercise operational control, direction and supervision over the Integrated Police Force herein constituted. For this purpose, the Chief of Constabulary shall integrate the above-mentioned Integrated Police Forces into the organizational and operational set-up of the Philippine Constabulary and exercise control, direction and supervision through the head of each of the said Integrated Police Forces: *Provided*, That such Integrated Police Forces shall not form part of the Philippine Constabulary as a military organization and a Major Service of the Armed Forces of the Philippines but as civilian components thereof, except as may be directed by the President in time of emergency.
- **SEC. 5**. Extent of control and direction. The power of control and direction over each of the Integrated Police Forces shall include the power to control and direct the tactical, strategic movements, deployments, placements and/or utilization of the Integrated Police Forces concerned, or any of its components, elements, equipment, facilities, and all other resources, within its territorial jurisdiction; the training of the members thereof; and such other powers that may be necessary to make such control and direction real and effective.
- **SEC. 6**. Power of administrative control and supervision. Administrative control and supervision over the several police and fire departments and jails composing