[PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 1243, November 17, 1977]

CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF BUMBARAN IN THE PROVINCE OF LANAO DEL SUR.

WHEREAS, it is the desired aim of the State to provide every possible opportunity to hasten the pace of progress throughout the land with emphasis not only in areas where economic development is behind, but likewise in Places where for political reasons, among others, constitute a stumbling block towards the early realization of the ideals of the New Society;

WHEREAS, the municipality of Wao in the province of Lanao del Sur is comprised of so vast a territory that the present strength of the local Integrated National Police Force is far from adequate to patrol outlying communities for the maintenance of peace and order

WHEREAS, a division of said municipality into two municipalities would enhance progress and development of the areas involved, since projects for development would be subjected to closer attention and supervision by local officials;

WHEREAS, it is necessary to create the municipality of Bumbaran out of the existing municipality of Wao so as to maximize the enforcement of law and order thereat and to expediate optimum development thereof, considering that the territorial area of the proposed new Municipality of Bumbaran is vast agricultural lands capable of producing variable crops which would give sufficient food and income to its population;

WHEREAS, the creation of the municipality of Bumbaran will benefit economically, socially and politically the residents of the area or areas affected;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution, do hereby order and decree:

SECTION 1. Barangays Sumiorang, Ilama, Mansilano, Lico, Ranao-Baning, Aparport, Punud, Lambanogan, Frankfort, Borantacan, S imogot, Pagalamatan, Sigua-an, Salam,' Comara, Natangcopan, Bandara-Ingud, Miorod, Pagona-yan, Bagombayan, all in the municipality of Wao, Lanao del Sur, are hereby segregated therefrom and shall constitute a separate and independent municipality to be known as the Municipality of Bumbaran, in the province of Lanao del Sur, and same shall be bounded as follows: On the East by the mother municipality of Wao only separated by a straight line 13.65 km. drawn northward from Point-1 to Point-2 on the bank of Maladugao River 1.5 km. East of the Barangay of Sumogot on the Lanao-Bukidnon Boundary Line thence following the natural course of the Maladugao Boundary line southward to the intersection of the Lanao-Cotabato Boundary as Point-4; thence finally 1.72 km. Eastward following the Lanao-Cotabato Boundary Line to Point oi beginning.

SEC. 2. The seat of government of the Municipal Bumbaran shall be Barangay Aparport.