[PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 1434, June 10, 1978]

MERGING THE ISABELA STATE COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURE AND CAGAYAN VALLEY INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY INTO A STATE UNIVERSITY TO BE KNOWN AS THE ISABELA STATE UNIVERSITY, TRANSFERRING THE COLLEGE LEVEL COURSES OF ISABELA SCHOOL OF ARTS AND TRADES, JONES RURAL SCHOOL, ROXAS MEMORIAL AGRICULTURAL AND INDUSTRIAL SCHOOL, AND SAN MATEO VOCATIONAL AND INDUSTRIAL SCHOOL INTO SAID UNIVERSITY, PROVIDING A CHARTER FOR THIS PURPOSE, AND APPROPRIATE FUNDS THEREFOR.

WHEREAS, the Constitution of the Philippines directs the State to establish and maintain a complete, adequate, and integrated system of education relevant to the goals of national development and further prescribes that all educational institutions shall aim to develop scientific, technological, and vocational efficiency;

WHEREAS, under Presidential Decree No. 6-A also known as the Educational Decree of 1972 promulgated on September 20, 1972, it has been declared a policy of the government to re-orient the educational system toward the accelerated national economic growth and meaningful social development;

WHEREAS, to maximize the effective utilization of limited resources, it is necessary to integrate and convert the institutions of higher learning located in the province of Isabela into one institution of higher learning in order to establish an effective and efficient state university that will serve as an instrument towards the rapid development of the natural and manpower resources Region II, particularly of the Province of Isabela;

WHEREAS, the establishment of the state university in the Province of Isabela will provide better service in professional and technical training in the arts, science, humanities, and technology and in the conduct of scientific research and technological studies;

WHEREAS, the integration of said institutions of higher learning into an autonomous state university is necessary to hasten the realization of the national goals as well as enhance regional development.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution, do hereby order and decree:

SECTION 1. The present Isabela State College of Agriculture located in Echague, Isabela and the Cagayan Valley Institute of Technology located in Cabagan, Isabela are hereby merged into a state university which shall be known as the Isabela State University, hereinafter referred to as the University with the main campus and administrative site at Echague, Isabela. The college level courses of the Isabela School of Arts and Trades at Ilagan, Isabela, Jones Rural School at Jones, Isabela, Roxas Memorial Agricultural and Industrial School at Roxas, Isabela and San Mateo Vocational and Industrial School at San Mateo, Isabela are hereby transferred to the University. **SEC. 2.** The University shall provide advanced instruction in the arts, agricultural and natural sciences as well as in technological and professional fields.

SEC. 3. The governing board of the University shall be the Board of Regents to be composed of the Secretary of Education and Culture as Chairman, the President of the University as Vice Chairman, and a representative of the National Economic Development Authority and six (6) prominent citizens who have distinguished themselves in their respective professions or fields of specialization to be appointed by the President of the Philippines upon recommendation of the Secretary of Education and Culture, as Members. In the absence of the Secretary of Education and Culture, he may designate his representative to sit in the meetings of the board.

Of the first group of six (6) appointive regents, two shall serve for two years; two for three years and two for four years. Thereafter, the appointees shall hold office for a term of four years. In case of permanent vacancy, the appointee shall hold office for the unexpired term only.

SEC. 4. A quorum of the Board of Regents shall consist of a majority of all members holding office at the time of the meeting. All processes against the University shall be serves on the President of the University or his duly authorized representative.

SEC. 5. The members of the Board of Regents shall not receive compensation but shall be reimbursed for actual and necessary expenses incurred either in attendance of meetings of the Board or of other official business authorized by the board.

SEC. 6. The Board of Regents shall have the following powers and duties in addition to its general powers of administration and the exercise of all the powers of a corporation as provided in Section Thirteen of Act Numbered Fourteen Hundred Fifty-nine as amended otherwise known as the Corporation Law:

- a. To prescribe rules for its own government and to enact for the government of the University such rules and regulations not contrary to law, as may be necessary to carry out the purpose and functions of the University;
- b. To receive and appropriate to the ends specified by law such sums as may be provided for the support of the University;
- c. To receive in trust legacies, gifts and donations of real and personal property of all kinds, to administer the same for the benefit of the University, or the department thereof, or for aid to any student in accordance with the directions as instructions of the donor, and in default thereof, in such manner as the Board of Regents may in its discretion determine. All such donations shall be exempt from all taxes and shall be considered as deductible items from the income tax of the donors;
- d. To approve the curricula and rules of discipline drawn by the College Council as hereinafter provided;
- e. To confer degrees upon successful candidates for graduation, to award honorary degrees upon persons in recognition of learning, public service, statemanship or eminence in any field of specialization of the University, and to authorize the President of the University to award certificates for completion of non-degree programs;
- f. To appoint, on recommendation of the President of the University, provosts, vice-president, deans, directors, registrars, head of departments, professors, and other officials and employees of the University; to fix their compensation,