[PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 1555, June 11, 1978]

FURTHER AMENDING PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 742 AS AMENDED BY PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 773 TRANSFERRING THE REGIONAL CENTER OF REGION IX FROM JOLO TO ZAMBOANGA CITY.

WHEREAS, it is the policy of the State to institute changes in existing administrative structure of government according to the changing requirements of the country;

WHEREAS, present political and socio-economic conditions in Region IX point to the need for change in the administrative structure of the area to improve government and private operations;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution, do hereby further amend Presidential Decree No. 742 as amended by Presidential Decree No. 773 as follows:

"1. Region IX shall be composed of the provinces of Basilan, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga del Sur, and the cities of Dapitan, Dipolog, Pagadian and Zamboanga, with the last as Regional Center."

This Decree shall take effect immediately.

Done in the City of Manila, this 11th day of June, in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and seventy-eight.

(Sgd.) FERDINAND E. MARCOS President of the Philippines

By the President:

(Sgd.) JACOBO C. CLAVE

Presidential Executive Assistant



Source: Supreme Court E-Library This page was dynamically generated by the E-Library Content Management System (E-LibCMS)