## [ PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 2017, January 26, 1986 ]

MERGING THE KALINGA-APAYAO COMMUNITY COLLEGE, BIBAK NATIONAL AGRICULTURAL SCHOOL, TABUK NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL, AND DOÑA EUFRONIS M. PUZON MEMORIAL SCHOOL INTO A STATE COLLEGE TO BE KNOWN AS THE KALINGA-APAYAO STATE COLLEGE, PROVIDING A CHARTER FOR THE PURPOSE AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR.

**WHEREAS,** the Constitution of the Philippines directs the State to establish and maintain a complete, adequate and integrated system of education relevant to the goals of national development and further prescribed that all educational institutions shall aim to develop scientific, technological and vocational efficiency;

**WHEREAS,** under Presidential Decree No. 6-A also known as Educational Decree of 1972, it has been declared a policy of the government to re-orient the educational system toward an accelerated national economic growth and meaningful social development;

**WHEREAS,** to maximize the effective utilization of limited resources, it is necessary to integrate and convert the institutions of higher learning located in the Province of Kalinga-Apayao into one institution of higher learning in order to establish an effective and efficient state college that will serve as an instrument towards the rapid development of the national manpower resources not only of the Province of Kalinga-Apayao but all the other provinces of Region II;

**WHEREAS,** the establishment of a State College will provide better services in professional and technical training in the arts, sciences, humanities, and technology and in the conduct of scientific research and technological studies;

**WHEREAS,** the integration of the above-mentioned institutions of higher learning-into an autonomous state college to be known as the "Kalinga-Apayao State College" is imperative to hasten the realization of national goals as well as enhance regional development.

**NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS,** President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution, do hereby order and decree:

- **SECTION 1.** The present BIBAK National Agricultural School, Kalinga-Apayao Community College, Tabulc National High School and Dona Eufronia M. Puzon Memorial School, located in Kalinga-Apayao are hereby merged into a State College which shall be known as the KALINGA-APAYAO STATE COLLEGE, hereinafter referred to as the State College.
- **SEC. 2.** The State College shall provide advance institutions in arts, agricultural and natural sciences as well as in technological and professional field.
- **SEC. 3.** The governing; body of the State College shall be vested in the Board of Trustees to be composed of the Minister of Education. Culture and Sports, who shall be the Chairman of the Board, the President of the College as Vice-Chairman, and the Regional Director of the Ministry of Education, Culture and Sports for Region II, the Regional Director of the Economic Development Authority for Region II, the

President of the Alumni Association of the State College, and three (3) perminent citizens of Kalinga-Apayao who shall be appointed by the President of the Philippines upon recommendation of the Minister of Education, Culture and Sports, as members;

In the absence or inability of the Minister of Education, Culture and Sports, or when these positions are vacant, the vice-Chairman of the Board shall be the Acting Chairman or in his absence, the other members of the Board may elect from among themselves a temporary Chairman of the Board;

The three (3) appointive members of the Board shall hold office for four (4) years without reappointment. *Provided* that one of the first three (3) appointive members of the Board shall be appointed for two (2) years only and another one for four (4) years. In case of permanent vacancy, the appointee shall hold office for the unexpired terms only.

- **SEC. 4.** A quorum of the Board of Trustees shall consist of a majority of all members holding office at the time of the meeting. All processes against the State College shall be served on the President of the State College or his (July authorized representative.
- **SEC. 5.** The Members of the Beard of Trustees shall not receive compensation but shall be reimbursed for actual and necessary expenses incurred either in attendance of meetings of the Board or of other official business authorized by the Board.
- **SEC. 6.** The Board of Trustees shall have the following Powers and duties in addition to its general powers of administration and the exercise of all the powers of a corporation as *provided* in Section 36 of Batas Pambansa Bilang 68 otherwise known as 1he Corporation Code of the Philippines;
  - a. To prescribe rules for its own government and to enact for the government of the State College such rules and regulations not contrary to law, as may be necessary to carry out the purpose and functions of the State College;
  - b. To receive and appropriate such funds, specified by law, for the support of the State College;
  - c. To import duty-free commodities for educational purposes as an exception to existing laws as well as to receive in trust legacies, gifts and donations of real and personal property of all kinds, to administer the same for the benefit of the State College or the department thereof, or for aid to any student in accordance with directions and instructions of the donor, and in default thereof, in such manner as the Board of Trustees may in its discretion determine. All such donations shall be exempt from all taxes and shall be considered as deductible items from the income tax of the donors;
  - d. To approve the curricula and rules of discipline drawn by the State College Council as hereinafter *provided*;
  - e. To confer decrees upon successful candidates for graduation, to award honorary degrees upon persons in recognition of learning, public service, statemanship, or eminence in any field of specialization of the State College, and to authorize the President of the State College to award certificates for completion of non-degree programs;
  - f. To appoint, on recommendation of the President of the State College, Vice-Presidents; deans, directors, registrars, heads of departments, professors, and other officials and employees of the State College; to fix their compensation, hours of service, and such other duties and conditions as it may promulgate,