LEGAL NOTICE No. 249

#### THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT

(Cap. 265)

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by sections 5, 28 and 39 of the Local Government Act, the Minister for Local Government makes the following Order:—

# THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT (COUNTY OF KITUI) ORDER, 2007

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Local Government (County of Kitui) Order, 2007.
- 2. The District of Kitui, excluding the area described in the First Schedule, is declared to be the County of Kitui.
- 3. The County of Kitui shall be divided into the twenty-nine electoral areas specified in the Second Schedule, the boundaries of which are more particularly delineated, edged blue, on Boundary Plan No. REA (22(a)), which is signed and deposited at the Office of the Electoral Commission of Kenya, Nairobi, and a copy of which may be inspected at the Office of the District Commissioner, Kitui.
- 4. There shall be established in the County of Kitui a county council to be known as the county Council of Kitui which shall consist of—
  - (a) twenty-nine elected councillors one of whom shall be elected from each of the twenty-nine electoral areas specified in the Second Schedule; and
  - (b) not more than nine councillors to be nominated by the Minister under section 39 (1) (c) of the Act, of whom one shall be a public officer.
- 5. The Local Government (County of Kitui) Order, 2002, is revoked.

L.N. 233/2002.

#### FIRST SCHEDULE

(para. 2)

## AREA OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF KITUI

The area the boundaries of which are more particularly delineated, edged carmine red, on Boundary Plan No.541/58(b), which is signed and deposited at the office of the Electoral Commission of Kenya, Nairobi, and a copy of which may be inspected at the Office of the Clerk to the Municipal Council of Kitui.

SECOND SCHEDULE

(paras. 3 and 4)

### THE COUNTY OF KITUI

Electoral Areas:

Kwa Vonza Yatta/Nthongoni Kanyangi Kiseuni