LEGAL NOTICE NO. 241

THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT

(Cap. 265)

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by sections 5, 28 and 39 of the Local Government Act, the Minister for Local Government makes the following Order:—

THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT (TOWNSHIP OF CHOGORIA) ORDER, 2007

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Local Government (Township of Chogoria) Order, 2007.
- 2. The area which is described in the First Schedule is declared to be the Towhship of Chogoria.
- 3. The Township of Chogoria shall be divided into the four electoral areas specified in the Second Schedule, the boundaries of which are more particularly delineated, edged blue, on Boundary Plan No. REA (17(c)), which is signed and deposited at the Office of the Electoral Commission of Kenya, Nairobi, and a copy of which may be inspected at the Office of the District Commissioner, Tharaka-Nithi.
- 4. There shall be established in the Municipality of Chuka a municipal council to be known as the Municipal Council of Chuka which shall consist of—
 - (a) four elected councillors one of whom shall be elected from each of the four electoral areas specified in the Second Schedule; and
 - (b) not more than two councillors to be nominated by the Minister under section 39(1) of the Act, of whom one shall be a public officer.

The Local Government (Township of Chogoria) Order, 2002, is revoked.

L.N. 225/2002.

FIRST SCHEDULE

(para. 2)

AREA OF THE TOWNSHIP OF CHOGORIA

The area the boundaries of which are more particularly delineated, edged carmine red, on Boundary Plan No.541/105, which is signed and deposited at the office of the Electoral Commission of Kenya, Nairobi, and a copy of which may be inspected at the Office of the Clerk to the Town Council of Chogoria.

SECOND SCHEDULE

(paras. 3 and 4)

THE TOWNSHIP OF CHOGORIA

Electoral Areas

Chogoria Kiraro