LEGAL NOTICE No. 231

## THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT

(Cap. 265)

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by sections 5, 28 and 39 of the Local Government Act, the Minister for Local Government makes the following Order:—

## THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT (COUNTY OF WAJIR) ORDER, 2007

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Local Government (County of Wajir) Order, 2007.
  - 2. The District of Wajir is declared to be the County of Wajir.
- 3. The County of Wajir shall be divided into the forty-eight electoral areas specified in the Schedule, the boundaries of which are more particularly delineated, edged blue, on Boundary Plan No. REA (11 (a)), which is signed and deposited at the Office of the Electoral Commission of Kenya, Nairobi, and a copy of which may be inspected at the Office of the District Commissioner, Wajir.
- 4. There shall be established in the County of Wajir a county council to be known as the County Council of Wajir which shall consist of—
  - (a) forty-eight elected councillors one of whom shall be elected from each of the forty-eight electoral areas specified in the Second Schedule; and
  - (b) not more than sixteen councillors to be nominated by the Minister under section 39 (1)(c) of the Act, of whom one shall be a public officer.
- 5. The Local Government (County Council of Wajir) Order, L.N. 215/2002. 2002, is revoked.

**SCHEDULE** 

(paras. 3 and 4)

## THE COUNTY OF WAJIR

Electoral Areas:

Jogbaru

Barwago

Township

Wagberi

Lefaley

Wargadud

Elben

Sarman

Tarbaj

Dambas

Khorof Harar

Wajir Bor

Kulaaley