LEGAL NOTICE NO. 227

THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT

(*Cap.* 265)

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by sections 5, 28 and 39, of the Local Government Act, the Minister for Local Government makes the following Order:---

THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT (TOWNSHIP OF TAVETA) ORDER, 2007

1. This Order may be cited as the Local Government (Township of Taveta) Order, 2007.

2. The area which is described in the First Schedule is declared to be the Township of Taveta.

3. The Township of Taveta shall be divided into the seven electoral areas specified in the Second Schedule, the boundaries of which are more particularly delineated, edged blue, on Boundary Plan No.REA (8(c)) which is signed and deposited at the Office of the Electoral Commission of Kenya, Nairobi, and a copy of which may be inspected at the Office of the District Commissioner, Taita.

4. There shall be established in the Township of Taveta a town council to be known as the Town Council of Taveta which shall consist of—

- (a) seven elected councillors one of whom shall be elected from each of the six electoral areas specified in the Second Schedule; and
- (b) not more than two councillors to be nominated by the Minister under section 39(1) (c) of the Act, of whom one shall be a public officer.

L.N. 212/2002.

5. The Local Government (County of Taita/Taveta) Order, 2002 -N.2127 is revoked.

FIRST SCHEDULE

(Para.2)

AREA OF THE TOWNSHIP OF TAVETA

The area the boundaries of which are more particularly delineated, edged carmine red, on Boundary Plan No.541/114, which is signed and deposited in the Electoral Commission of Kenya, Nairobi, and a copy of which may be inspected at the Office of the Clerk to the Town council of Taveta.

SECOND SCHEDULE (Paras. 3 and 4)

THE TOWNSHIP OF TAVETA

Electoral areas

Chala/Njukini Mboghoni Mata