LEGAL NOTICE NO. 224

## THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT

## (Cap. 265)

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by sections 5, 28 and 39 of the Local Government Act, the Minister for Local Government makes the following Order -

## THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT (COUNTY OF LAMU) ORDER, 2007.

1. This Order may be cited as the Local Government (County of Lamu) Order, 2007.

2. The District of Lamu is declared to be the County of Lamu.

The County of Lamu shall be divided into the nineteen electoral areas specified in the Schedule, the boundaries of which are more particularly delineated, edged blue, on Boudary Plan No. REA (7) which is signed and deposited at the Office of the Electoral Commission of Kenya, Nairobi, and a copy of which may be inspected at the Office of the District Commissioner, Lamu.

3. There shall be established in the County of Lamu a county council to be known as the County Council of Lamu, which shall consist of—

- (a) nineteen elected councillors one of whom shall be elected from each of the nineteen electoral areas specified in the Schedule, and
- (b) not more than six councillors to be nominated by the Minister under section 39(1(c) of the Act, of whom one shall be a public officer.

L.N. 209/2002.

5. The Local Government (County of Lamu) Order, 2002 is revoked.

(Paras. 3 and 4)

## SCHEDULE THE COUNTY OF LAMU

Electoral Areas:

Kiunga Basuba Faza/Tchundwa Kizingitini/West Ndau Siyu/Pate Langoni Shella Manda Mkomani/Matondoni Mokowe Hindi/Magogoni Mkunumbi Kiongwe